13 flags for veterans dedicated Monday

Steve King is speaker for Memorial Day ceremony

 The 41st Memorial Day Parade of Flags Dedication will take place on Memorial Day at 10 a.m. Monday at the Buena Vista County Courthouse.

Thirteen flags will be dedicated to veterans who passed away this last year. This brings the total number of flags to 980.

Marty De Muth will be the Master of Ceremonies.

De Muth, a veteran of the United States Navy, has been in law enforcement for 20 years, the last 14 with the Buena Vista County Sheriff’s Office. De Muth served in Operation Enduring Freedom with Maritime Expeditionary Security Squadron Six out of Portsmith, Va.

Congressman Steve King will be the guest speaker.

This event is sponsored by the Storm Lake Parade of Flags Foundation.

Anyone attending is reminded to bring a lawn chair.

In case of inclement weather, the ceremony will be held in the Storm Lake High School gym.

The following is a list of people who will have a flag dedicated in their honor:

         • Ramon P. Williams, Peacetime, US Army, PFC : 9/21/1935 – 3/6/2011

         • Wayne K. Manteufel, Korea, US Army, PFC: 6/2/1932 – 9/10/2013

         • Gerald M. Scott, Korea, US Navy, AN: 3/7/1934 – 9/29/2013

         • Donald E. Meyer, Korea, US Army, SFC (T): 8/21/1928 – 10/11/2013

         • Lester L. Grunig, WWII, US Army Airforce, Cpl: 2/15/1924 – 10/19/2013

         • John R. Swanson, Korea, US Army, Cpl: 3/3/1932 – 10/22/2013

         • Wallace E. Burns, WWII & Germany Occ, US Army Air Corps/Army, Pfc: 8/18/1926 – 12/24/2013

         • Bernard H. Veehoff, Korea, US Navy, FT2: 1/10/1932 – 1/16/2014

         • Dale B. Wheat, Peacetime, US Army, Sp3 (T): 5/16/1933 – 2/2/2014

         • John Oatman, Jr, WWII, US Army Airforce, Sgt: 2/7/1920 – 3/6/2-14

         • Dr. Ted R. Liautaud Sr. Vietnam, US Army, PFC 1/14/1939 – 3/4/2014

         • Clifford Roland Monson, WWII, US Army Airforce, Sgt: 2/7/1920 – 3/6/2014

         • Henry Frank Taylor, WWII, US Army, Tec 5: 1/23/1917 – 4/26/2014